You no longer need to send email after email explaining “a little bit about yourself,” scramble to find past references, or be responsible for telling property owner’s your roommate’s life story. Instead, create a rental profile, match with listings you’re interested in, and begin messaging owners in the app. You can also look at the owner's profile behind the listing so you have greater visibility into the other party before showing up to a viewing.
We recommend including a photo, bio, and your references to start. If you have a pet, you’re looking for a new place with roommates, or have any relevant documents that you think will increase your chances you can include those as well.
However, always be careful about what you upload to your profile and never share sensitive information (banking information, SIN numbers, etc) with owners on the platform.
After you’ve created your profile and set your preferences you can begin browsing available listings. If you find a listing you like you simply need to click the ‘Express Interest’ button on the listing. This will send a notification to the owner letting them know that you’re interested in their space and share your profile with them to review.
Your renter profile will become available for the owner to review and if they think you might be a good fit they will accept your interest. This is how a match gets made and you will receive a notification letting you know. At this point the in-app chat window will become available in your ‘Inbox’ and you can begin communicating with the owner in the app.
Yes, you can navigate the website and look through available listings without making a profile. However, the real benefit from Den comes after you make a profile.
Once you have a profile you will be able to save your preferences, express interest in listings you like, message owners in the app, and send documents back and forth.
Another huge advantage of creating a profile is that it will make your search far more organized. When you’re logged in listings you haven't seen yet will appear gold, listing's you've matched with will appear green, favourites will appear red, and listings you've already seen will appear blue. This makes it easy to stay organized and track your efforts - without accidentally returning to a listing you already looked at previously.
Your privacy is extremely important to us, which is why your profile remains 100% private until you express interest in a specific listing. After you express interest in a listing your renter profile will be shared with that specific owner, and the owner alone, to review.
Owners and Managers
With Den you have more visibility into prospective renters earlier on in the process. When a renter expresses interest in one of your listings you are automatically provided their renter profile to review. A renter profile includes a photo of the renter, their bio, references, links to their roommates, employment status, if they have pets, and any relevant documents they’ve attached to their profile. This way you can stay clear of renters that won't be a good fit and only spend time vetting the best candidates.
Once you've finished reviewing a renter's profile you can accept their interest and begin messaging directly in the app. All of this leads to fewer back and forth emails, greater certainty about a renter’s character earlier on in the process, and lands you the right renter for your space.
You will need to be signed in and have a profile before you can create a listing. We’ve made it a requirement that you include a minimum of 3 photos with your listings to ensure renters have a great experience and know what to expect from your space.
For the time being it is absolutely free to market your space and create a listing on Den.
Go to the 'Manage Listings' page to see an overview of all of your listings. From here you will find quick actions to the right of each listing where you can delete, archive, or mark the listing as rented. We suggest you always mark your listing as rented if you successfully find a renter because this action will notify all other interested renters letting them know your space has been filled and they should move on with their search. We do this as a form of transparency to ensure no one is wasting time and knows where they stand. Archiving a listing removes it from being found, but it can be reposted with one click if you need to market the property again in the future.
Your profile becomes public once you create a listing and is viewable by prospective renters. They can access your profile by going to your listing and navigating to your profile from there. It is helpful to think of this like a ‘host’ profile on airbnb.
Please send an email to email@example.com if you have any additional questions or ideas you’d like to see in our FAQ page.